There are a number of external award schemes which recognise achievement in teaching and learning.

If you are interested in applying to any of the schemes listed below, please contact ITaLI's Teaching and Learning Administration Officer at for advice.

Australian Awards for University Teaching (AAUT)

Round status: open

The Australian Awards for University Teaching (AAUT) were established in 1997 by the Australian Government to celebrate and reward excellence in university teaching.

In 2018, responsibility for the awards was handed to Universities Australia (UA) from the Federal Government Department of Education and Training. The AAUT continue to recognise quality teaching practice and outstanding contributions to student learning. UA have confirmed that they have received funding to run the awards until 2021.

The University of Queensland applicants to the AAUTs are identified by an internal selection process and receive an invitation to participate each year.

Identified applicants will receive an invitation to submit a draft application in early June 2019. Applicants are identified from the UQ award recipients, and by recommendation from University Senior Management.

Final submission of 2019 applications will be due on 13 September 2019. The Awards will be announced at the Universities Australia Higher Education Conference in February 2020.

How to apply

The University of Queensland applications to the Australian Awards for University Teaching are submitted by invitation only.

Please be aware that writing an award application and developing strong evidence to support a claim take time. If you are interested in a future application to the AAUTs, we recommend that you refer to the program information and nomination instructions below, review past applications available in the Exemplar award application library (staff login required) and speak to an award winner about their experience.

Universities Australia expect to release updated program information and nomination instructions in June 2019. The following documentation regarding the 2018 AAUT scheme is available:

Information session

If you are interested in applying for a teaching and learning award in the future (either a UQ award or an AAUT), please register to attend the Applying for a UQ Teaching and Learning Award information session through the Staff Development Calendar. The next offering of this session will open early in 2020.

This session is interactive and designed to assist you to develop a plan for your awards applications.

Please contact if you would like to receive alerts regarding the different Teaching and Learning award schemes.

Previous award winners


Australian Financial Review (AFR) Higher Education Awards

The Australian Financial Review (AFR) Higher Education Awards highlight at a national level the tremendous contribution that the higher education sector makes to Australian prosperity and quality of life.

There are 10 award categories, including education technology, employability and learning experiences.

Applications for the AFR Higher Education Awards open in March and close in June each year. Please note, applications to this scheme are supported for invited applicants. Visit the AFR Higher Education Awards website for more information.

Reimagine Education Awards

Applications for the Reimagine Education Awards open in March and close in July each year. The awards aim to acknowledge those most successful in creating transformational educational initiatives, enhancing student learning outcomes and/or employability.

Educational innovators from all over the world can apply for an award under 15 categories. For information about the key criteria and application requirements, visit the Reimagine Education Awards website.